National Environment Protection (Ambient Air Quality) Measure

> *Report of the Risk Assessment Taskforce*

Appendix 1

Terms of Reference and Membership of the Risk Asessment Taskforce

BACKGROUND

In June 1998, when making the Ambient Air Quality NEPM, NEPC agreed to establish a Risk Assessment Taskforce 'to investigate a risk assessment approach to guide the application of standards for the Ambient Air Quality NEPM'. NEPC Committee has since endorsed the Membership and Terms of Reference for the Taskforce, which first met in February 1999.

TERMS OF REFERENCE

With respect to the impact on the health of the Australian population, the Terms of Reference of the Risk Assessment Task Force are as follows:

- 1. Investigate the adequacy of current risk assessment models for their applicability in the NEPC context, and in particular their ability to guide the application of standards for the Ambient Air Quality NEPM.
- 2. To assess the desirability and the viability of developing a standard methodology for risk based approaches.
- 3. To examine reporting protocols for risk assessment based approaches.
- 4. To review the adequacy of existing Australian epidemiological data and studies on the health effects of air pollution and recommend actions to address relevant inadequacies.
- 5. To review international epidemiological data relating health effects to air pollution and assess the appropriateness of utilising such data in the Australian context.
- 6. To consider the elements of any communication strategy required to implement a risk assessment based approach in the NEPC context.
- 7. To report to NEPC Committee within 12 months of establishment of the Taskforce.

MEMBERSHIP

The Risk Assessment Taskforce comprises the Chair and eight members, four of whom are government officers and four members nominated by Non Government Organisations (two community/conservation and two industry).

The members of the Risk Assessment Taskforce are:

CHAIR

Dr Bruce Kennedy NEPC Service Corporation **MEMBERS** Dr Peter Brotherton (NECF Representative) Australian Conservation Foundation Shell Services International Dr Malcolm Brown (*Industry*) Dr Lyn Denison Environment Protection Authority, Victoria Dr Andrea Hinwood Department of Environmental Protection, WA Ms Bronwen Machin (NECF Representative) **Environment Victoria** Mr Geoff Morgan Southern Cross Institute of Health Research/NSW Health **Environment Australia** Mr Gerry Morvell Mr David Sinclair (Industry) Pasminco **EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Mr Ian Newbery **NEPC Service Corporation**